1998 or 1999?

hahninator

If anyone saw our Twitter account late last night (July 23rd), you would have noticed a few interactions between Mike and our account. The topic we were discussing is when Chester joined Linkin Park. With Sunset Music Festival coming up, this seems like an appropriate time to tackle the date!

MS: That photo was from 1997 or 1998 BTW

LPL: Chester joined in 1999 BTW

MS: I might be mistaken, then. but I thought the Brad photo was about 1998. If you're dying to know, I can ask my friend who took it!

LPL: the LPA has a similar photo with Chester in it which seems to be from the same day, more likely 1999 then.

MS: I'm pretty sure he joined earlier than 1999. I graduated from college in 98, and he was in the band by then.

LPL: Chester consistently mentions his 23rd birthday (March 1999) and you claim that in older interviews too. Ask Chester about it.

MS: Contrary to popular belief, none of us actually know what we're talking about. FYI

Chester has consistently said that he joined Linkin Park on his 23rd birthday (example here and a more detailed example here), which would be in March of 1999. However, the band and/or Mike has stated a few times that it was earlier than that. Even on the 2011 tour, the Linkin Park shirts at the merch booth had the date 1998 on them.

On the LP Underground albums, there are demos with Chester having the date of 1998. It is possible that these dates are incorrect, but they are on official releases by the band.

'Slip' (1998 Unreleased Hybrid Theory Demo) [LPU 11]

'Blue' (1998 Unreleased Hybrid Theory Demo) [LPU 11]

'So Far Away' (Unreleased 1998) [LPU 12]

So we are still unsure if Chester joined the band in 1998 or 1999. Xero was still playing in 1997, and there is a rumored Xero date for December 1998 (show page here), but it's possible that Xero date is incorrect even though it came from a web archive. Chester claims he joined in 1999, though. What do you think - which date is right?