The BPM and keys of the new album

Posted Image

So this is a question for somene who knows about this.. are these bpm and keys the usual ones that they use?

specially the keys, i know that the BPM can chance a lot but i heard that LP most of the time uses the same key, i'm not a musician probably i'm wrong.

Source: Mike Shinoda instagram

http://instagram.com/p/iDDueQjmXL/

breaking news: sneak peak of a new song

http://instagram.com/p/iDEeBEjmX9/

LOL

Edited by Linkin JZÉ

Tempo-wise, the most noteworthy things are the songs at 170-200 BPM. That's VERY fast. Obviously that may not be an indicator of overall "feel," depending on the mood of the music or how they sub-divide the notes (one of the fastest LP songs tempo-wise is actually Breaking the Habit, believe it or not), but usually stuff that has a half-time feel will just be written that way for the sake of not having a million measures crammed into a song (85-100 BPM). The tracks with BPMs that aren't a multiple of 5 are also odd, most musicians tend to round to the nearest 5 when calculating BPMs just because it makes for simpler math if they want to manually move stuff around from beat to beat.

Keys don't really mean a lot, LP's written in a lot of different keys. Their two most commonly used ones over the past two albums have been A minor and D minor. The different "modes" just refer to different scales used in the root key. For example, D Phrygian is based off of the D minor scale, but the second scale degree is flattened.

So instead of a D minor scale: D E F G A Bb C D

You get this instead: D Eb F G A Bb C D

The phrygian mode was a pretty commonly-used thing in early Linkin Park songs. One Step Closer and Figure.09 come to mind. Again, not something that can really be used to determine what a song's going to sound like.

I think the most significant thing this shows is that they have at least 24 different demos in play at this point. Album's definitely still far from done.